How I Trained my Brain Accidentally

Hari Gopinath
3 min readJan 10, 2020

--

If you think you can’t train your brain or if you think you can train your brain to learn and achieve anything you want, you are right either way. The results are in your thoughts and beliefs.

You might think that you do not have an excellent skill of learning anything fast, but when you actually try to learn something it feels like something is blocking you or the skill is evading you and slipping into the darkness. I experience it and so do a lot of people whom I have shared this experience with.

Everybody want to train their brain and improve learning capability but what do we do about it? I dint do anything about it till recently when I had this urge to learn more things but did not find myself do it.

In the course of my lifetime, I have bought 100s of info products and bought 100s of kindle eBooks and I am sure I haven’t read at least 50% of it entirely. I have observed that my brain tunes out of the learning mode as soon I find the content to be boring even for a paragraph or a sentence that makes me feel that this wouldn’t be useful to me. FOMO, or Fear of Missing Out has made me get hold of grabbing and storing information everywhere. I rarely get time to review or go through most of them.

Finally, after years of struggling with learning new skills, I found out why I was not able learn new ones as quickly as I wanted to. The loophole was MULTITASKING. I thought doing multiple activities would make me more efficient and get multiple things done at the same time but I was wrong.

I was able to listen to audio books while checking my emails and later designing a marketing plan but soon realized the quality of my work was never 100% in any of the work I did. This led to an epiphany.

Garbage in. Garbage out.

The quality of time you put into an action is equally proportional to the quality of the output from the action.

If you can give laser targeted focus and concentration to the action you are doing, the output quality will be much higher than what you would have got otherwise. How many times have you read an eBook or listened to an audio book and later wrote down notes about it?

One day, I started writing down notes after listening to an audio book and I realized that I couldn’t recall anything that I thought I was learning from the audio book. This insight as really helpful in understanding the importance of focus.

I used this to my advantage and created the process I have explained in my How to Find your Creativity in 4 Steps post.

Please let me know your thoughts, experiences, responses and views so that we could have multiple perspectives on this topic. If you liked this post, please follow me here on Medium.

--

--